Teen Programs

 
Featured Programs 

SAT PracticeNew SAT Practice Exam (For Grades 9-12)
Saturday, January 27 from 10:30am-2:30pm
Saturday, March 17 from 10:30am-2:30pm
Prepare for the new SAT exam by taking a free practice exam at the Library courtesy of Above Grade Level in Oakland County.  Bring No.2 pencils and a calculator.  Registration required.  For more information or to register, please call (248) 364-6712.  Free follow-up session to be announced.


cosplayCosplay Night (For Grades 6-12)
Friday, February 23 from 6:00-7:30pm
Do you enjoy dressing up as your favorite anime or comic book character?  Come to our Cosplay Party where prizes are given to the best dressed.  There will be trivia games and Japanese snacks.  Registration required.  For more information or to register, please call (248) 364-6712.


SOARSOAR Study Skills Presentation (For Middle School Students and Their Parents)
Saturday, March 3 from 3:00-4:15pm
Do you struggle in school?  Do you need reminders about getting your homework done?  Come to this presentation of SOAR study skills.  You can learn to be more efficient with study skills that can be used through college.  Registration required.  For more information or to register, please call (248) 364-6712.


Teen Tech Week - CopyTeen Tech Week: Some Assembly Required (For Grades 6-12)
Monday, March 5 from 5:00-8:00pm
Tuesday, March 6 from 5:00-8:00pm
Wednesday, March 7 from 5:00-8:00pm
Thursday, March 8 from 5:00-8:00pm
Friday, March 9 from 1:00-5:00pm
Saturday, March 10 from 1:00-5:00pm
The theme is "Libraries are for Creating." Come to our pop-up makerspace to become content creators using makerspace tech, software, videos, etc. Every day we will have a different theme and projects to complete. For more information, please call (248) 364-6712.


Mystery NightMystery Night (For Grades 6-12)
Friday, March 23 from 6:00-8:30pm
Put your sleuthing skills to work at our annual Mystery Night. Visit the crime scenes, examinethe evidence, and interview the suspects! Registration Required. For more information or to register, please call (248) 364-6712.


PeepsProtect Your Peeps (For Grades 6-12)
Friday, April 13 from 6:00-7:30pm
Multiple teams, Multiple Peeps, One Goal! Destroy the other team's peeps before they destroy yours. All materials will be provided, no registration required. Teams will be formed the night of the program. For more information, please call (248) 364-6712.


Club Meetings

TABTeen Advisory Board (TAB) (For Grades 8-12)
Friday, February 16 from 4:00-5:00pm
Friday, March 16 from 4:00-5:00pm
Friday, April 20 from 4:00-5:00pm
Friday, May 18 from 4:00-5:00pm
The AHPL Teen Advisory Board (TAB) is a group of dedicated students from grades 8-12 who want to make a difference at their Library.  TAB members play a critical role in developing our Teen Collection, event planning/marketing, volunteering, and making the Library a friendlier place for teens.  For more information, please call (248) 364-6712.


code club logoCode Club (For Grades 6-12)
Tuesday, February 13 from 6:30-8:00pm
Tuesday, March 13 from 6:30-8:00pm
Tuesday, April 10 from 6:30-8:00pm
Tuesday, May 8 from 6:30-8:00pm
Teens can come to learn coding and more in an experimental environment.  Learn how to create animations and games with either the Scratch or HTML coding languages.  Registration required.  For more information or to register, please call (248) 364-6712.


Anime ClubTeen Anime Club (For Grades 6-12)
Friday, February 16 from 5:00-7:00pm
Friday, March 16 from 5:00-7:00pm
Friday, April 20 from 5:00-7:00pm
Friday, May 18 from 5:00-7:00pm
Our Anime Club meets the third Friday of each month.  We'll watch anime and do other fun activities, create crafts and play games.  For more information, please call (248) 364-6712.